Moorfields’ Stars 2022 finalists announced

Moorfields’ Stars is our annual event to formally recognise and celebrate the achievements and outstanding work delivered by many of our excellent staff and the contribution made by volunteers.

A record breaking 585 nominations were submitted this year to recognise the work of many individuals and teams going over and above their role for the trust.

Judging panels, formed of representative staff from across the trust and patients, met to do the very difficult job of shortlisting the finalists. 

The winner of each award will be announced at the Moorfields’ Stars awards ceremony, on Wednesday 28 September 2022, and results will be published after.

Congratulations and good luck to all the finalists and thank you to Moorfields Eye Charity for supporting these awards. 


Moorfields’ star of the year

Rahila Ahmed, lead ophthalmic technician

Andrea Church, senior staff nurse

Sinead Murphy, sister

Luke Nicholson, consultant


Moorfields’ team of the year

Estates maintenance

Ocular oncology


Infection prevention and control team


Moorfields’ volunteer of the year

Francesca Catalini, overnight volunteer, Ronald McDonald House

Chris Lankester, volunteer at Croydon

Kiran Patel, volunteer, front door staff

Simon Rossi, volunteer at Ealing


Moorfields’ leadership award

Adnin Chowdhury, senior OVS practitioner and vision science practitioner and team leader

Gemma Jackson, head of marketing, Moorfields Private

Rashmi Mathew, glaucoma consultant and UCL associate professor


Moorfields’ unsung hero award

Susan Bibal, health care assistant

Ashan Herath, admin team leader

Michael John-Paul, post room porter

Louise Pratley, anaesthetic nurse


Moorfields’ excellence in equality, diversity, and inclusion award

Primrose Magala, nurse

Adam Mapani, nurse consultant

Amrit Sehmi, Darzi fellow and advanced orthoptist


Moorfields Eye Charity award for innovation and service improvement

Connor Beddow, service improvement manager/advanced orthoptist/honorary lecturer UCL

Digital cataract service

Hercules Brent Cross 


Moorfields Eye Charity champion

Croydon Sole Mates, various departments

Ryan MacDonald, BBSRC David Phillips fellow/ lecturer

Mariya Moosajee, professor of molecular ophthalmology and consultant ophthalmologist

Esi Noonoo, counsellor for children and young people


The patient choice award – individual

John Brookes, consultant ophthalmologist

Julie Judge, medical secretary

Cecilia Kati, nurse injector

Mariya Moosajee, professor of molecular ophthalmology and consultant ophthalmologist


The patient choice award – team

Mile End

Ocular prosthetics

Uveitis, Clinic 15


Moorfields’ world-class reputation is a product of an incredible workforce, working together day in and day out to offer excellent care for patients. It does not go unnoticed that there are many hundreds of people working incredibly hard across Moorfields for patients and colleagues alike. Thank you to you all.

Was this information useful? Please rate the page.